3-2-1 Write! Party: Writing Tools

3-2-1 WRITE! party

It’s Day 3 of the 3-2-1 Write! Party hosted by Read Another Page! Welcome back to my conference room here at Resting Life where we’re talking about all things writing. There are also fun games and giveaways (including an important piece of a giveaway game in this post), so don’t miss out!

Watch for the secret phrase in this post, and be sure to write it down. Combine it with the secret phrases from today’s posts by other writers who have conference rooms at the party and you’ll find the secret quote that will qualify you for a giveaway!

Day 3 party .jpeg

On Monday we discussed 3 favorite books on writing, and yesterday I shared my 2 favorite pieces of writing advice. Today is Day 3 of the 3-2-1, and I’m here to talk about my 1 favorite writing tool.

Is it Microsoft Word?

Is it Pinterest?

Is it a notebook for outlining and character development?

Is it the Spelling and Grammar check?

While I use and thoroughly enjoy all of the above writing tools (Microsoft Word for easy typing and formatting! Pinterest for character inspiration and plot ideas! Notebooks for easy brainstorming! Spelling and Grammar check to come alongside my inner editor!), today I’d like to talk about a different sort of writing tool that I believe is essential to every author.

Books.

That’s right. Books. After all, if you’d never read a book, how would you ever think to write one? If you’d never read a book, you’d have no pattern, no guide, no goal in mind.

Books can teach you the proper use of the English language.

Books can show you examples of the diverse styles available for you to write in.

Books can help you break outside your boxes and write something entirely new and unique.

Books can train you in formatting and publication standards.

Books can demonstrate to you the difference between poor writing and excellent writing.

Books can reveal to you what you like best for styles, genres, poetic word usage, point of view, language, description, plot types, and character development.

If All you have is a bookshelf full of books, you can read them, become inspired, and create anything else you want to read. In a sense, it doesn’t matter what other tools you might have – you can write in the sand with a stick, on parchment with charcoal, in a notebook with a pen, on Open Office on a laptop, or on your wall with your blood. If you have a book, you can catch the vision. Your imagination can be fired up. The seeds that books plant in the brain and in the heart are all it takes to sow and harvest a crop of beautiful stories and inspiring non-fiction.

For example, here are a few books that have shaped my writing style:

  1. The Bible – continues to shape every part of how I write
  2. The Five Little Peppers series by Margaret Sydney – demonstrated to me the intricacies of beautifully developed characters and relationships in a realistic day-to-day setting and revealed to me how characters truly make the story
  3. Storybooks by Rod and Staff Publishers – showed me how humdrum daily life can form a pleasing and uplifting tale
  4. Elsie Dinsmore series by Martha Finley – revealed to me how the spirit of Jesus Christ and godly character can permeate a story through and through while still telling a riveting tale; also planted in me a love for historical Christian fiction
  5. Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder – gave me a spirit of adventure as well as demonstrated how down-to-earth tales of simple daily living can be powerful bestsellers
  6. Annabeth’s War and Captive of Raven Castle by Jessica Greyson – showed me it is possible to write entirely realistic stories set in a fictional world
  7. The King’s Daughter and Other Stories for Girls; Tiger and Tom and Other Stories for Boys; Stories Worth Rereading – gave me a sense of how even a short story could pack a punch and deliver spiritual encouragement in a well-educated and interesting way
  8. Ishmael by E.D.E.N. Southworth – a novel written in high language with a complex plot and characters that demonstrated to me how to explore the depths of character motivations
  9. The Ilyon Chronicles by Jaye L. Knight – an excellent example of highly polished writing mixed with a deep Christian message, unforgettable characters, and a dramatic and compelling plot

And here is the Big Giveaway! Be sure to enter for a chance to win an amazing writer’s package!

Paper copy of The Emotion Thesaurus

$5.00 Amazon Gift Card

Free Cover Design by Victoria Lynn

$30 Blog Tour Orchestration by Faith Blum

Free Edit of up to 5000 words by Erika Mathews

Because we’ve had 40 different people enter the giveaway, we’ve also added a second and a third prize! If you don’t win the grand prize, you could win one of two Amazon gift cards!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What books have influenced you most as a writer? What’s your writing tool of choice? Comment below – I’d love to discuss our favorite books!

FaithBlumButton.png


Did you find the secret phrase? Click the button above to visit Faith’s blog and find the next phrase, or return to Read Another Page to start the trail from the beginning. Be sure to return tomorrow for the final day of the 3-2-1 Write! Party where we find out the winners of the giveaways!

7 thoughts on “3-2-1 Write! Party: Writing Tools

  1. I love this “tool”! It’s so easy to overlook how important well written books are to a writer. You can glean so much from different genres without even really realizing it. Thank you for sharing!

  2. Hey, someone else who had read Tiger and Tom and Kings Daughter and Stories Worth Re-reading! I liked them quite well because they showed me how short a story can be while still accomplishing something. I’ve read the first Five Peppers book–the author did a good job making lovable characters. =) And Ishmael–very complicated plot there. That’s a good one for seeing how to create suspense and lovable characters.

    One of my favorite writing tools is the Word processing program called Scrivener. It’s really helped me increase my productivity. One of my favorite features (other than they let you try it for a month free with full functionality) is the ability to have different chapters, thus enabling me to work on different sections of a story at once (if I have a scene figured out ahead of where I’m currently writing, I can go ahead and write it without opening a new document). My other favorite feature is the full screen writing mode. All you get is the “paper” and the blinking cursor, while whatever you have as desktop background is your background. I pick a picture that matches my current story and just focus on writing.

    Oooh, a book I think you’d like: The Hoosier Schoolmaster by Edward Eggleston. 1800s book with good characters, good plot, and good Christian message. =)

    Thanks!

    Liberty Bluebelle

    “Where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty.”

    • Great books, aren’t they? 🙂

      I’ve heard a lot of good things about Scrivener. I’ve never tried it – partly because I don’t want to pay for it when I have Microsoft Word, and partly because I’m in a rut with how I write. 🙂 I’d like to try it someday though. It sounds quite useful!

      Nice! I haven’t heard of that book – I’ll have to check it out! Sounds like just my style.

      Happy writing! 🙂

  3. Love this! And you will never know how pleased I was to see Elsie Dinsmore in your list! She get’s such a bad rap now a-days that I hesitate to say anything about her, but she was the heroine of my childhood! Though there are flaws, there is still so much good! For instance, Book 5-6 were the most influential to me and I learned the most about Civil War from them than I have from any other book (including history books)

  4. Pingback: 3-2-1 … WRITE! | RestingLife.com: Written Rest

Leave a Reply

