Image

3-2-1 Write! Party: Writing Books

3-2-1 WRITE! party

It’s party time! Read Another Page is hosting a 3-2-1 Write! Blog Party for all writers, and I’m thrilled to have one of the conference rooms here at Resting Life. For the next four days, we’ll be talking about all things writing. There are also fun games and giveaways (including an important piece of a giveaway game in this post), so don’t miss out! 

Watch for the secret phrase in this post, and be sure to write it down. Combine it with the secret phrases from the posts of the other writers having conference rooms at the party and you’ll find the secret quote that will qualify you for a giveaway!

Day 1 Party graphic

Today’s Day 1 of the 3-2-1, and to kick things off, we’ll be talking today about 3 of our favorite books about writing. As writers, it’s important to hone our skills and educate ourselves on techniques. Obviously, a plethora of resources exist on the subject of writing, and the more we read, the more we learn and the better quality writings we produce. Here are three books I recommend strongly.

The Elements of Style, by William Strunk Jr. and E.B. White

51q3typgjnl-_sx313_bo1204203200_

There’s a reason this book is currently a #1 Bestseller on Amazon – as well as remaining a favorite with writers since its publication in 1920. Small and slim at a mere 104 pages, this book packs in style and grammar rules and tips in concise, clear format.

On a more personal level, this book has been a favorite of mine from a young age. During my childhood and teenage years, I’d read sections of this book simply for enjoyment. While penning stories and reports in the days before Google, I’d consult this book to find the answers to tricky grammatical questions. Every writer ought to be thoroughly familiar with this book – grammar and style are key qualities of excellent writing.

Where Do I Start? An Overview of Indie Publishing, by Molly Evangeline

51sm3k4l2btlThis book is also small – only 60 pages – but it’s filled with a wealth of information on the publishing process, formatting, cover design, marketing, and navigating the many options of indie publishing. Simple, practical, and to the point, I found this book very helpful as a comprehensive introduction to the world of publishing. If you’re looking for a detailed tome, this book isn’t what you want, but if you’re just getting your feet wet in the Indie Publishing process (or even if you’ve done it a few times), you’ll find this book both informative and helpful.

Student Writing Intensive, by Andrew Pudewa

This book and DVD set propelled my writing techniques f517dgsgywjl-_sx400_bo1204203200_orward like no other. Andrew Pudewa’s fast-paced, humorous, informative, and pointed lessons help the writer analyze every word, sentence, paragraph, and part of speech and learn the proper way to put together and use each one. Although I don’t write in “Andrew Pudewa” style outside of the assignments in the book, the exercises of incorporating a certain number of adverbs into a paragraph, using all six sentence openers in every paragraph, choosing a variety of prepositional phrases, and varying sentence structures expanded my borders as a writer and enriched my natural style. In addition, learning to outline through this book has proved to be a valuable skill as I outline books in preparation to write them. These materials may be geared towards students, but I believe all writers can benefit from this book.

Despite my passion for both reading and writing, I haven’t read many books about writing, and I’d love some recommendations of books that you’ve found helpful in your writing journey. Comment below: what writing books are your favorites and why?

And here is the Big Giveaway! Be sure to enter for a chance to win an amazing writer’s package!

Paper copy of The Emotion Thesaurus

$5.00 Amazon Gift Card

Free Cover Design by Victoria Lynn

$30 Blog Tour Orchestration by Faith Blum

Free Edit of up to 5000 words by Erika Mathews

a Rafflecopter giveaway

rufflesandgrace.png

Did you find the secret phrase? Click the button above to visit Victoria’s blog and find the next phrase, or return to Read Another Page to start the trail from the beginning. Be sure to return tomorrow for Day 2 of the 3-2-1 Write! Party where I’ll be sharing my favorite writing advice – and another game!

15 thoughts on “3-2-1 Write! Party: Writing Books

  1. I found this through twitter–how sweet of you guys to offer up a copy of the Emotion Thesaurus. Looks like a fun event–I have shared it. Wishing you a terrific week!

  2. You have used Andrew Pudewa too? I actually teach IEW and, like you, learned so much about writing and have been able to enrich my own writing because of it. Since you are the second person to recommend The Elements of Style, I guess I need to pull it off my shelf and read it. 😛
    Great job of using your Quote Words in the actual post! I can’t wait to see what else you are going to share at this party.

  3. Hi! Yup, Elements of Style was one I would read for fun growing up. I still glance through it. Yay for IEW! That was very helpful for me in my writing journey, though I know what you mean about not writing in that style. It trained me to include variety in my sentence structures, and the outlines for stories was a good tool to learn too, especially for retelling a story. My three paragraph retelling of a Bible story turned into 22 pages! =D

    ~ Liberty Bluebelle

    “Where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty.” ~II Corinthians 3:17

  4. Yay! Another IEW fan! I did two different kinds for my High School curriculum. It was so good! I have also taught it to a few of my younger siblings. One of the best writing programs I did. Have you heard of CQLA? It was equally as good, though a little more focused on the practice. Thank you for sharing!
    Blessings,
    Victoria

    • Nice! I really enjoyed how IEW made writing and grammar fun. They just published a speech curriculum as well that looks excellent.
      I haven’t heard of that. I’ll have to look into it.

      • Yes indeed! It was fun! And helpful. Sometimes just a dry textbook can be so hard for me to learn stuff because it doesn’t stick as well for me. But IEW made it easy and it stuck with me if that makes sense lol!

  5. Pingback: 3-2-1 Write! Party: Writing Advice | RestingLife.com: Written Rest

  6. Thanks so much for giving away a copy of our book, Erika. I see it’s in good company here :). I’ll be sure to share the news about your giveaway. Have a great day!

  7. Pingback: 3-2-1 Write! Party: Writing Tools | RestingLife.com: Written Rest

  8. Pingback: 3-2-1 … WRITE! | RestingLife.com: Written Rest

Leave a Reply

