Lady Dragon, Tela Du: Interview with Granite

recently-updatedCheck out yesterday’s post with more information on the book, my review, a free book, and more!

Today I’m back with the Lady Dragon, Tela Du blog tour, and this time Granite is here with me.

Let me tell you, I love Granite. From his deep loyalty to his true love to his heartfelt pain, he’s patient, faithful, true, and steadfast. That’s not to say he hasn’t made his share of mistakes, but he’s a character to be loved.
img_0248

WR: So Granite, welcome to Written Rest. I’m honored to have you here all the way from Rizkaland. First, where did you get your deep loyalty to your wayward wife Amber, the Lady Dragon?

Granite: She used a love potion on me the day after her sixteenth birthday – it had been a present from her mother. And even though she say’s it worn off … I’m not entirely convinced.

I pledged my life to her, and I didn’t mean it just for the good times. If I had known where our path would lead, though … She was so good once. And I can’t help but wonder if, maybe, I could have done something, said something. If I’d been more forceful. Maybe she’d still be good.

img_0246

WR: Maybe…but maybe not; we can’t live life in the maybes.

Tell me about your relationship with Laura. What do you think of her?

Granite: Laura raised Amber and I, so she’s like a mother to us. Most of the time, at least. I’ve met her sometimes when she’s younger. Scared and innocent. Then she’s more like the kid sister we never had, and the older I’ve become, the more often I see her that way. She’s a fascinating person – a force of nature, really. It’s impossible to know her completely – some days I wonder if even she can make that claim – but she told me once that I know her better than most, and I consider that to be a rare honor.

img_0245

WR: That does sound like a rare honor. A “force of nature.” Interesting way to describe a person. On another note, Amber has lured many innocent people to her castle as servants. Do you have any kind of a relationship with those servants?

Granite: For the most part, I don’t interfere with the people around the castle, lest I direct Amber’s attention to them.

img_0247

WR: Probably a wise course of action. Tell me about a time when you interfered with Amber’s plots. What did you do and what was the result?

Granite: When we first came to Rizkaland, Amber kidnapped a number of the new kings and queens, froze some of them, and put two of them, Jane and Renee, into her dungeon. Laura and I helped their uncaptured friends sneak in and rescue them. Amber was furious, and a few weeks later we were on the Isle of Banishment. Such is my life.

WR: I’m sorry about that life. Life is hard…but there are bright spots even in the hardest life. What’s your favorite memory?

Granite: The first time Amber kissed me. It was after the love potion wore off. I don’t remember much of my actions under its effects, only that I very much acted the fool. And I was very embarrassed, so I hid. And Amber found me. Long story short, she kissed me. It was the first time she had ever shown me affection.

08ea3f8f-cb49-4ca7-9aad-6bff69498f1a

WR: That’s sweet. What did you feel (due to your shared heartbeat with your wife) at the moment when the Water Princess and Fire Prince fulfilled their prophecy?

Granite: The moment when were forced back onto the Isle of Banishment? From amber, nothing, actually, aside from her detransformation from her dragon state as soon as were back in our castle. She was very calm, turned away, and marched to her office and didn’t emerge until the next day. She was annoyed, but not really angry, you see. I was mostly relieved that we were back where she would make minimal people’s lives miserable.

img_0249

WR: That is a benefit. What do you appreciate most about your wife?

Granite: She has a brilliant mind. Amazing. I just wish she’d stop using it for evil.

WR: As do I, Granite. As do I.

img_0244

11 thoughts on “Lady Dragon, Tela Du: Interview with Granite

    • Thank you.

      It seems to me like something Amber would do. I mean, we’re talking about someone who became a Lady Dragon, collected all the stars, and used numerous magical objects. (And eventually did evil things to people, including killing them with potions/magic.) I’d be surprised if she hadn’t experimented with a love potion somewhere along the way.
      Still, I didn’t know that about her either. I would have thought that their love was natural and real and true – and held together by their vows.

      • Meh. Love potions didn’t really seem like Amber’s style- particularly because she and Granite seem too genuine in their love for it to be fake. But you do make a good point.
        And you’re welcome.

      • Would it make the two of you feel better if I told you that the potion only worked because he already liked her – even if he didn’t realize it – and that it merely exagerated the feelings he already had?

  1. I think I’d heard about the love potion before, but forgotten it. I’m really glad they don’t exist in our world. But, I thought the kiss that sealed their vows was the first one.

    And the relationship with Laura, it’s kind of strange. Amber and Granite are immortal and Laura is a time traveler and keeps randomly changing age.

      • To me, a kiss is a kiss. πŸ™‚ But I get that.

        I’m also glad they don’t exist in this world. Most sane people wouldn’t use them even if they did exist though – if love doesn’t come freely, it’s not truly love. (Maybe they’d use them on their spouses AFTER marriage to ensure faithfulness! – but only AFTER they’d initially won the person’s love. :))

Leave a Reply

