Jaye L. Knight: Author Interview

JayeAuthorJaye L. Knight is an award-winning author, homeschool graduate, and shameless tea addict with a passion for Christian fantasy. Armed with an active imagination and love for adventure, Jaye weaves stories of truth, faith, and courage with the message that even in the deepest darkness, God’s love shines as a light to offer hope. She has been penning stories since the age of eight and resides in the Northwoods of Wisconsin.You can connect with Jaye on her website, blog, Facebook, Google+, Twitter, and Etsy.

 

Once upon a time I met an author named Jaye. We had a conversation, and today, in celebration of the release of Samara’s Peril, book three of Ilyon Chronicles, you get to listen in!

“Hi Jaye! Congratulations on the release of Samara’s Peril! What an exciting day! This is a significant milestone in your long writing career. Speaking of which, what was the first story you ever wrote, and how old were you when you wrote it?”

“My very first story was about a girl named April, if I remember correctly. It was actually a little collection of one page stories about her and her friends and pets. I honestly can’t remember what each of them were about. I was eight years old when I wrote them.”

de7c75ad9fcb7a39f802f4aae0cc585a

“How fun! I love reading and hearing about authors’ childish works! During your writing career, what’s the most unique, interesting, or unusual thing you’ve ever done in the name of book research?”

“I bought and had my brother lock me in a pair of shackles. Uh yeah, that was interesting. I guess it wasn’t purely for research, but rather for a cover photoshoot, but it still gave me a good idea of what it’s like.”

e98b43ac721a48603a68d0b873cacfcf

“Wow, you certainly trust your brother! I’m not sure I’d let my brother do that to me… On another note, you have quite a number of excited readers and fans. What do your fans mean to you?”

“My fans mean everything to me! Without such dedicated readers, my mom would probably be one of the only people reading my work. Without the interaction and encouragement, I don’t think I would even attempt to keep publishing my books. It can be a long, hard, discouraging process at times, but it’s the fangirly comments or sweet, encouraging emails I get that really help make it feel worth it.”

69b1d23e536fe301f5e82f5add3fc0b6

“I can assure you that your writing is much to valuable to be confined to such a limited audience. 🙂 And as long as it remains so encouraging, we’ll be sure to keep up the fanclub. Actually, we’ll keep it up anyway, because we can’t help it with a series like this… Here’s a random question: if you were a tree, which one would you be and why?”

“What are those huge, gorgeous, spreading trees over in England that you always see on Pride & Prejudice movies and Downton Abbey? I’m not even sure, but that’s the kind of tree I would want to be. I love those trees.”

10c2f21d6adcb17a3a5ab267df567656

“Nice. I’m not sure what they are either, but they are grand. Back on topic, Samara’s Peril gets deeply into conflicts in Jace’s heart. What were some of the challenges of writing at this level?”

“Well, when you’re writing a character, you really try to put yourself in their position and feel what they feel so that it’s real and accurate. It obviously can be difficult to get into the mind of someone who is so deeply depressed, though I do have experience with depression to draw on. Honestly, I think the biggest challenge of writing such deep and sometimes dark emotions is just the unknown of how readers will react. A lot of what goes into the series and Jace in particular is deeply personal to me, so it’s like baring your heart to the world. That’s a scary thing.”

ca22852fae359568588291e2d3cfccd2

“That’s interesting that readers’ reactions play such a large role in the challenge of writing. Readers, too, then, have a weighty job. Thanks so much for pouring your heart and soul into your books so that such light and truth comes out! It’s a blessing to be able to read. Before we go, is there anything else you’d like to share with your readers and fans?”

“I just want to say how thankful I am for everyone who has been a part of this adventure so far. It has been two years since Resistance was published (May 20, 2014). Those two years have been the most exciting time of my writing career so far. Everything that has happened with this series has been incredible, and that wouldn’t be without such wonderfully dedicated readers.”

“Congratulations on this two-year milestone for Ilyon! I can honestly say it is the best series I’ve ever read. I look forward to where God will take you with it in the next two years!”

Don’t forget to scroll down and check out the posts containing my review of Samara’s Peril and many other Blog Tour goodies – including a giveaway! And if you’d like to truly enter the celebration, click one of the links below to purchase your very own copy of Samara’s Peril. You’ll be blessed through reading this book.

be644d065859e3e1372073ffdf4ffd5f

Available now on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and iBooks!

Image source credit: Pinterest
2 thoughts on “Jaye L. Knight: Author Interview

  1. Loved the interview and enjoyed reading it! Thank you, Jaye and Erika. 🙂 I’m so glad I heard about these books and thanks to Erika, was inspired to read them. Now I can’t wait to read the rest and find out what happens to this amazing cast of characters! 😀 The books have blessed me in my walk with Christ, and in Resistance, I especially found myself turning several questions over in my mind and asking myself what I would have done in the same position. Can’t wait to read through all of Samara’s Peril and am already anticipating the next book!

Leave a Reply

