Actually Finishing Something [in] July (4)

Week Four Questions

 
How goes progress?
 Progress goes excellently! The challenge of trying to complete this massive project (a commentary on the whole Bible) in July has been very motivating. Pages are flying by – some days I can get through 40-50 pages.
I also edited seven more chapters of an author’s upcoming book this week.
~~~
Snippet-time! Share a snip or two from your weekly writing.
It is dark. It is quiet. The women are full of grief. Then the sun begins to rise. The sky lightens. Color spreads over the east. The ground begins to shake. The women are puzzled.
Jesus rises from the grave under a brilliant sunrise! At the dawning of the day, He rises! The grave cannot hold Him a moment longer than the minutes required to count three days. The Jews counted days from evening and morning – and parts of days would count as a whole day. Jesus was placed in the grave just before sundown before the Sabbath. That was day one. The Sabbath itself was day two. The day after the Sabbath was day three – but the second the sun rose, the grave exploded open! It could not hold the Prince of Life down for one more second!
 ~~~
God made a garden in the Creation covenant – and He placed mankind there. It was in a garden that He walked and talked with mankind. It was in a garden that the most difficult test of Jesus’ life was met and conquered as He wrestled with the serpent. It was in a garden that He was buried – and it was in a garden that His resurrection occurred.
~~~

For three hours, Jesus hung in darkness and in intense pain. He endured. He battled the enemy. He battled loneliness. He battled in the face of every sin being placed upon Him. He took the handwriting of ordinances which was contrary to us and nailed it to that cross with Himself. Physically, He was utterly spent. Emotionally, He was utterly spent. Spiritual, He was utterly spent. The battle was more intense than anything that we can imagine. No wonder He cried out after three hours of this! No wonder He felt like God had forsaken Him!

~~~

Do you have a Pinterest inspiration board, or other collection of images, that inspire your story? If so, share one or two of them with us. 
No, I don’t – not for this project. I’ve been too busy writing to think about inspiration. 🙂 However – now that you mention it – I have had a few images flitting around my head as I type this past week. They aren’t pretty images either…
“Let Him be crucified!”
The picture in my head of the mob is fiercer than this.
~~~
Pilate Washing his Hands
“I am innocent of the blood of this just man. See ye to it.”
Pilate, yelling, can hardly be heard above the noise of the mob.
~~~
“Why do you embrace your cross?”
[My musical inspiration for this part]
“If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, take up his cross, and follow me.”
~~~
The Passion of the Christ
“Woman, behold thy son.”
[all images stills from the Passion of the Christ]
~~~
How would the main character of your story react if he or she were introduced to you?
Seeing that Jesus is the main character, He has met me. He created me and died for me, in fact. He loves me with an everlasting love – and He lives inside of me. I call that a pretty special relationship!
~~~
Introduce us to one or two of the secondary characters in your story. 
Peter: always talking, not shy, very much a leader, bold, headstrong, impulsive
Joseph of Arimathaea: Jesus’ secret disciple, an honorable counselor, one who waited for God’s kingdom, a good man, a just man, a man willing to stand alone, humble, bold, under authority, gentle, honoring of Jesus
~~~
If one of your characters (you choose who) were allowed to choose a super-power, which power would he or she most desire? 
I wonder if Pilate would have chosen mind control. He pronounced Jesus innocent publicly at least half a dozen times, yet the fierce, unruly mob moved by highly determined, envious priests and scribes would not go away until they obtained permission to kill Jesus. By mind control, Pilate could have changed their minds to believe what Pilate believed in the matter.
~~~
We’re nearing the end of this summer challenge! Is the completion of your goal in sight?
Yes! I finished another document – which means I finished the Gospels – and now am on the last document. I have II Peter, II Timothy, Jude, and I, II, and III John remaining. We will have to see how this last document goes, but at this rate I hope to finish very close to the end of the month. I will have to up my average to a little more than 4 chapters a day – but that is doable. The biggest problem is that I have a conference next week which will take up the last two days of July and into August. Because of that, I might not quite finish in July – but I will be close!
~~~
To join Actually Finishing Something [in] July, visit Whisperings of the Pen. It’s not too late!
Leave a Reply

