Actually Finishing Something [in] July (2)

Week Two
1) How time flies! Did you reach your weekly goal? No. I made it to the end of Thursday.

2) Is this challenge pushing and encouraging you to write more often? Yes, to some extent. At least this way I have a specific goal for each day and I know where I am supposed to be. Knowing that I am accountable for something is helpful to motivation.

3) Did you accomplish most of your writing in the morning, afternoon, evening, or at random intervals during your busy day (i.e. waiting for your neighbors to go inside so you can jump on the trampoline without disturbing them)? Somehow I seemed to accomplish most of my writing in the evening. I get into a writing rut in the evening.

4) Any particular musical tracks inspiring your prose? Not in particular. For the most part, I worked in silence. However, I did find this music very relaxing when my mind wanted to fly off everywhere else.

5) Share a snippet (or two) of your writing!

Psalm 150:6 – Let every thing that hath breath praise the LORD. Praise ye the LORD.

Notice the tone of this passage: “Let everything that hath breath praise the Lord.” This does not leave any living creature out. Those with breath are entitled to praise Yahweh. The whole universe is lumped together in a group – a group of oneness in spending every breath for the praise of Yahweh!

However, the tone shifts: “Praise ye the LORD.” Now it is personal. It is not just me as part of a huge unified group praising Yahweh; this is me personally praising Yahweh. This is me alone and stilled – and yet still in praise – in the presence of Yahweh. This is me in my closet with the door shut. This is God and me in personal relationship!

Think of the divergent yet harmonizing views presented in this simple verse: we praise Yahweh as one of a multitude united around the throne in His love and in His Son. And yet we simultaneously are alone in the intimate presence of Yahweh praising Him personally. We are separate and yet united, one and yet many. It is the paradox of praise.

PRAISE YAHWEH!

6) Share your three favorite bits of dialogue.

Since my project does not exactly have dialogue (okay, it does – but I did not write the dialogue; it is in the scripture itself), I will share three quotes.

The cold shows the power of God in a special way. It is a power greater than humans can bear. The coldest places of the world and the universe cannot be inhabited. If we cannot even stand the power of His cold in the world He created for us, how much more is His power greater even than that! … If the snow and ice melt at His Word, how much more can His Word melt our hearts and mold us into His image!

As the wind of His Holy Spirit blows in our lives, we are changed. Rivers of living waters flow through our being – transforming us and touching the lives of those around us.

If you feel the truth that you are seated in heavenly places, praise Him from there. If you feel the truth that you are very much physically on this earth, praise Him from there.

7) How are you going to move forward in this challenge? Are you changing your word-count goal, or other such battle plans this week?

I am going to continue forward at three chapters or more a day as my goal. My battle plan includes lots of prayer. I hope to finish my current document this week for sure, and perhaps the next document as well.

To join Actually Finishing Something [in] July, visit Whisperings of the Pen.

Leave a Reply

