Living Sacrifice

One day God led me to a waterfall with a stone. I sat on the rock and started meditating. The rock was rather like an altar – and I was sitting on it. Every so often, someone would walk by on the road.

I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service. And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.” (Romans 12:1-2).

I was only sitting on the “altar.” How often do we do that with God – we get up there and sit, maintaining some control? What if we get on the altar and sit, but we won’t lay down? While sitting, we maintain some semblance of control – and I vividly experienced that as I sat on the rock. We might look odd laying down. We might feel very vulnerable. Our mind, always wanting to protect itself, wonders, “What if someone comes by and sees me weirdly laying down on a rock?” But God comes back with, “Don’t you trust me to take care of you?” So we have to listen – and He will bless us as we do.

Leave a Reply

